Posted on

The Learned Man

This Wednesday will mark the end of my first year back in college.  It has come with challenges, but overall, I have found it very beneficial.  It has kept me busy, and therefore I have had to remain motivated and focused on the goal.  The daily goal of doing everything that I can in my power to provide for my family.  Beyond that point, it is all in God’s hands.

I am blessed to have a wife who has supported me and helped me keep that focus.  My employers and co-workers have been generous and flexible with my schedule.

So what have I learned so far?  Well, I have learned more ways to integrate complicated functions.  I can find the area under a curve and rotated around an axis.  I can add or multiply vectors.  Or find their cross products.  I know that free body diagrams should be simple, but for some reason, are from the devil.  Rotational motion, constant angular acceleration, moment of inertia, simple harmonic motion, and Bernoulli’s equation are all concepts that are more familiar to me than they were three months or even 3+ years ago.

Philomena the Physicist

But what have I really learned?  Life is busy, and I have to take it a day at a time to keep focus.  To do what needs to be done.  A busy life has taught me to appreciate the down time with my wife and daughter.  That is not to say I did not before, but it is so much more sacred now.  Even if we are just watching Downton Abbey or making embarrassing faces and noises at our amused (sometimes annoyed) child.

Conclusion?  I am glad to be going back to school.  It is good for me, but more importantly it is good for my family, especially if it pushes me to be a better man, not just a nerd who can spout impressive sounding calculus/physics buzzwords.

About ryanunfiltered

I am a husband and father. My life is very blessed. I seek out what is true and beautiful. I try not to get too distracted.

3 responses to “The Learned Man

  1. erikamarie ⋅

    It’s funny how learning about complicated things can teach us so much about the simple. Congrats on finishing your first year back…all the more impressive since you are now married and a father!

  2. Marie ⋅

    So proud of you!

  3. Elizabeth ⋅

    Congrats on the first year sir! Your ladies are very blessed to have such a dedicated man working so hard for them.

Leave a Reply

