Posted on

Scraping, Sanding, Priming, Painting…

I have been a homeowner for a couple of months now, and so far, I cannot complain.  My wife and I both comment that it is a little surreal at times but ultimately, it brings us peace.  Our little one has a lot more room in which to play, and we can take pride in the work that we (and our generous family and friends) have already put into this house.

I thought I would use this post to share two projects of which I am particularly proud.  And no, this is not a DIY blog, so there will not be any step by steps.  Just a lot of pictures.  It is my first post in awhile, so I am making it easy.

My wife and I wanted a farm table for our dining room and considered trying to build a table similar to this one.  Thankfully, I let my reason make the decision, and I did not attempt to make a table.  Instead, we found this one on Craigslist, and after some negotiations, got it for cheap.

It is a good, solid table, with a veneer top.  It just needed some work to make it shine, so with some help from my in-laws (who also graciously stored it in their garage), I learned to refinish furniture.  It was actually enjoyable, and left me with a sense of ownership that would not have been there had we bought it new from a store.

Getting ready to strip the table.

Stripped and ready to sand.

Trying not to hurt myself.

Onto the home stretch.

As you can see from the above picture, we got the wood fairly light, so we had to make some decisions on which stain to buy.  We like darker colors for dining room tables, but we had recently purchased a china hutch for our dining room that was a lighter color.  We ended up going with a lighter stain and were pleased with the results.  See for yourself.

The finished product.

Philomena gives her approval.

The table was a couple months long project.  It was hard to find the time to put towards it between work and school.  The second project I want to show off was much less time consuming.  It was helpful that we waited until Thanksgiving break, so I could devote a couple afternoons to it.  The project?

Painting our front door.

Sarah and I both like the idea of a bold color for the front door.  Knowing our (my wife’s) taste in colors, one might suspect we would paint the door yellow, but that is not what we did.  We went with Sherwin Williams “Splashy.”  I have heard my wife also call it peacock blue.  I call it teal.

Anyway, here are some pictures.

Our worn out door before its new color.

Primed and ready to go.

Philomena really enjoyed sitting at the door and watching me work.

The finished product.

I think Philomena would be content if there was no door.

Back in its rightful place.

Our little Scotsman will greet you.

About ryanunfiltered

I am a husband and father. My life is very blessed. I seek out what is true and beautiful. I try not to get too distracted.

5 responses to “Scraping, Sanding, Priming, Painting…

  1. Marie

    Love the color! Way to go Ryan!

  2. jackie

    Way to go Ryan! They both look great.

  3. Pingback: the red chairs saga | sarahunfiltered

Leave a Reply

